Alan Ayckbourn: The Plays - In Depth

The Plays section is the heart of with more than 1,000 pages dedicated to the full length plays and Alan Ayckbourn's other writing.

Each full length play has its own section complete with a history of the play, synopsis, quotes and articles by Alan Ayckbourn, world premiere reviews, major production details, adaptations in other media information and further reading amongst other pages.

To access further details about the full length plays, click on a play title in the right hand column or visit the
Plays Index page by clicking on the links at the top of page or below. To find out details about Alan Ayckbourn's other writing such as his revues and one act plays, visit the Plays Index page.

Original research for all the play pages is by and copyright of Simon Murgatroyd.


Play Index: A list of every Ayckbourn plays with links to its relevant section on the website

Play Index (alphabetical): Every play / play title listed alphabetically with links

Defintive List: The definitive chronological list of every Alan Ayckbourn play with relevant links

Play Premieres: Dates for world, London, New York & North American Ayckbourn premieres

Play Availability: Availability of Ayckbourn plays for production alongside pertinent play details

Performing Rights: How and where to obtain licenses for Ayckbourn plays and production FAQs

Character Names: A guide to the names of characters in Alan Ayckbourn's full-length plays.

Early Plays: An overview of Alan Ayckbourn's pre-professional plays and writing

Grey Plays: A guide to Alan Ayckbourn's withdrawn and unpublished 'Grey Plays'

Miscellany: Details of other Ayckbourn works

Sponsor A Play: Sponsor your favourite Ayckbourn play on the website


As of 2015, Alan Ayckbourn has written:
  • 79 full length plays
  • 11 revues / musical entertainments
  • 4 one act plays
  • 2 plays for performance by young people
  • 4 plays for pre-school children
  • 5 adaptations
  • 1 screenplay
  • 1 book

The 79 full length plays include:
  • 11 family plays
  • 8 musicals
  • 1 farce*
  • 4 plays incorporating elements of chance
  • 2 trilogies**
* Alan Ayckbourn considers that he has only written one true full-length farce, this being Taking Steps.
The Norman Conquests and the Damsels In Distress plays are considered by Alan Ayckbourn to be his only true trilogies; his three supernatural plays (Haunting Julia, Snake In The Grass and Life & Beth) are thematically connected but are not officially considered a trilogy.

Creative Commons License Alan Ayckbourn's Official Website by Simon Murgatroyd is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. Based on a work at Click here for details.